Loading Updating cart...

Beyond the Pale - Postcards

Postcards is the long-awaited third release by Toronto-based innovative acoustic group Beyond The Pale.  Now in their 11th year, the band is at a creative peak in this sophisticated collection of North American-inflected East-European roots fusion. Postcards traverses a vast and exotic musical landscape - from raucous dance rhythms and funky acoustic grooves to complex instrumental showpieces and intricate chamber music-like aesthetics.  While each of the 16 tracks delivers a unique musical snapshot, the album is not merely a collection of "genre pieces.:  With daring original compositions and inventive takes on traditional material, Postcards is a trail-blazing redifinition of contemporary east Eurpoean folk/roots music, bound by no particular idion but shaped by many. Following up on their multi-award winning live CD "Consensus" (Borealis 2004), the band returned to the recording studio with the core sextet of Bret higgins (bass), Bogdan Djukic (percussion, violin), Aleksandar Gajic (violin, viola), Milos Popovic (accordion), Eric Stein (mandolin, mandocello, cimbalom), and Martin van de Ven (clarinets).  Joining them on three tracks is Isreal's Vira Lozinsky, who delivers gorgeous Yiddish vocals on original arrangements of tunes penned by contemporary Yiddish poet Michael Felsenbaum.

Track Listing

  1. Magura
  2. Solution
  3. Katarina
  4. Kamenetzer
  5. Anthem
  6. Shtern
  7. Turkish Delight
  8. Back To The Beginning
  9. Meditation
  10. Split Decision
  11. Postscript
  12. An Old Legend
  13. Are Two
  14. Dutchmandu
  15. Doina
  16. Extra Spicy
Product Code: BCD197